Neil Robertson defeats Stuart Bingham 9-7 in the Welsh Open final

World number eight Neil Robertson defeated Stuart Bingham 9-7 in the final of the Welsh Open, despite a spirited fightback from the Englishman.

The game was a thriller, with Robertson leading the match 7-3 before Bingham won four successive frames at the Motorpoint Arena.

Robertson also won the tournament back in 2007, when he beat surprise finalist Andrew Higginson 9-8. After winning the competition this year, the Australian takes home the £70,000 prize money, taking his career earnings past £4m.

Neil Robertson reached the final by defeating Jordan Brown, Gary Wilson, Paul Davison, Michael Georgiou, Kurt Maffin and Hossein Vafaei. Stuart Bingham, on the other hand, defeated Ali Carter, Matthew Selt, Martin O’Donnell, Robbie Williams, Zhao Xintong and Joe O’Connor to make the final.

In the final itself, Robertson started by winning the first two frames, with Bingham responding in the third to make it 1-2. A similar pattern occurred in the next three frames, with Robertson winning the fourth and fifth, and Bingham taking the sixth, making the score 2-4. Robertson then won the seventh frame of the afternoon session, before Bingham recorded the highest break of the game, 102, to win the final game of the afternoon session, and make the score 3-5.

Neil Robertson is pictured during his 9-7 win in the 2019 Welsh Open final against Stuart Bingham Neil Robertson is pictured during his 9-7 win in the 2019 Welsh Open final against Stuart Bingham.

Robertson took the two frames in the evening session to make it 3-7, making it a hefty-looking score-line overall. Bingham, however, won the next four frames to make it 7-7 overall and give himself a good chance of winning the match. It wasn’t meant to be however for Bingham, as Robertson won the next two frames, crowning himself as champion in Cardiff.

Neil Robertson and Stuart Bingham shake hands after Neil Robertson wins the 2019 Welsh Open final Neil Robertson and Stuart Bingham shake hands at the end of the 2019 Welsh Open.

Defending champion John Higgins couldn’t retain his title after beating Barry Hawkins 9-7 in last years’ final, exiting at the quarter-finals to Joe O’Connor.

Two of the pre-tournament favourites to win the tournament, Ronnie O’Sullivan and Mark Selby, both had massively disappointing tournaments for their high standards. O’Sullivan was knocked out in the third round by world number 71 Alexander Ursenbacher, with Selby being defeated one round later in the last 16 by Iranian Hossein Vafaei.

There were some very impressive performances throughout the tournament, notably those of 23-year-old Englishman Joe O’Connor, who defeated top 10 players Kyren Wilson, Ding Junhui and last years’ champion John Higgins en-route to his first ranking event semi-final.

The next tournament that will take place if the Snooker Shoot-Out, which is taking place in Watford, England. The snooker shoot-out is played under a variation of the standard rules of snooker. It is a one-frame shoot out with a random draw, where the winner is given £32,000. The top 64 players in the world rankings contest the tournament, and the reigning champion is Cypriot Michael Georgiou.